Formula 1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton has been voted as BBC Personality of the year.

Seven-Time Formula 1 World Champion Lewis Hamilton won a public vote ahead of fellow nominees Stuart Broad, Hollie Doyle, Tyson Fury, Jordan Henderson and Ronnie O’Sullivan.

Hamilton after winning the prize said “I want to say congratulations to all the incredible nominees I’m so proud of what they have achieved.

“I want to say thank you to everyone that has voted for me. I wasn’t expecting this knowing there are so many great contenders.

“I want to say Merry Christmas to everyone – it’s been such an unusual year and I want to mention all the front line workers and all the children round the world, I want you to try and stay positive through this difficult time, I’m sending you all positivity.

“Thank you from the bottom of my heart.”

Premier League champions Liverpool were named Team of the Year, and manager Jurgen Klopp was crowned Coach of the Year.

England and Manchester United footballer Marcus Rashford received a Panel Special Award. Rashford led a successful campaign to extend the provision of free school meals for vulnerable children during the lockdown.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here