Verstappen beats Hamilton on final lap of 2021 to win maiden F1 title in the season-ending Abu Dhabi Grand Prix

After a late Safety Car, the race ended in a nail-biting one-lap sprint, with Lewis Hamilton finishing second.

Mercedes has now won the constructors’ title for an unprecedented eighth time, with Valtteri Bottas finishing sixth and Sergio Perez retiring.

Medium-tyred At the start, Hamilton jumped soft-shod Verstappen, but the Dutchman came back at Turn 6, nudging him wide and over the run-off, but Hamilton maintained his lead.

The stewards opted not to look into it further.
On Lap 13, Verstappen entered the pits, followed by Hamilton a lap later, leaving Sergio Perez in the lead with the task of holding off Hamilton.

On Laps 20 to 21, Perez did precisely that, earning the nickname “legend” from his teammate when he allowed him by to continue the chase before pitting on Lap 22.
He appeared to be on his way to the podium until he was forced to retire on Lap 56 due to a Safety Car brought out due to a Nicholas Latifi crash.

With only one lap of green flag racing remaining after the Safety Car, Verstappen pitted for soft tyres, the race ended with only one lap of green flag racing remaining, providing another another memorable event in this incredible season.

Verstappen did make the critical pass on Hamilton on Lap 5, and when Hamilton attempted to come back near Turn 9, it proved futile.

As was undoubtedly going to happen, history was created, and the trophy was awarded to a Dutchman for the first time.

Read Here for More on F1 News


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here