Image Source Twitter

Messi won the last edition of the Ballon d’Or in 2019 before last year’s awards were cancelled due to the pandemic. He also won in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2015

Lionel Messi won the men’s Ballon d’Or award for a record-extending seventh time at a ceremony in Paris on Monday.

Messi won the last edition of the Ballon d’Or in 2019 before last year’s awards were cancelled due to the pandemic. He also won in 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, and 2015. The 34-year-old scored 38 goals in 48 games last season for Barcelona and won the Copa del Rey before captaining Argentina to Copa America glory in July.

It’s incredible to be here again. Two years ago, I thought it was the last time. Winning the Copa America was key, Messi said at Paris’s Theatre du Chatelet.

It is a special year for me with this Copa America title. It meant a lot to win at the Maracana stadium, and I was so happy to celebrate with the people of Argentina.

I don’t know if it’s the best year of my life. I’ve had a long career, but it was a special one with the title with Argentina after the tough times and the criticism.

At PSG, Messi, who joined PSG on a free transfer from Barcelona after ending the previous season as La Liga’s top scorer, scored 613 points, while Bayern Munich’s Lewandowski, who was voted best striker on Monday, scored 580.

Jorginho, who won the Champions League with Chelsea and the European Championship with Italy, finished third with 460 points, ahead of Karim Benzema of France and Ngolo Kante of Mali.

Chelsea’s Edouard Mendy finished second in the Yashin award, behind Italy’s Gianluigi Donnarumma, and the club was named club of the year.

Alexia Putellas of Spain won the women’s Ballon d’Or after leading Barcelona to a Champions League triumph.

“The key moment was the Champions League final against Olympique Lyonnais,” she said.

Alexia Putellas is the third winner of the Ballon d’Or Feminin after Ada Hegerberg in 2018 and Megan Rapinoe in 2019. There was no ceremony last year due to the coronavirus pandemic.

On a good night for Barcelona, the 19-year-old Pedri was awarded the Kopa Trophy for the best under-21 player.

The best way to celebrate turning 19 is by receiving this award. I’d like to thank everyone in Barcelona for helping me here, “he said.

The list of winners from the 2021 Ballon d’Or ceremony in Paris on Monday:

Men’s Ballon d’Or Top 10

1. Lionel Messi (ARG/Barcelona)

2. Robert Lewandowski (POL/Bayern Munich)

3. Jorginho (ITA/Chelsea)

4. Karim Benzema (FRA/Real Madrid)

5. N’Golo Kante (FRA/Chelsea)

6. Cristiano Ronaldo (POR/Juventus – Manchester United)

7. Mohamed Salah (EGY/Liverpool)

8. Kevin De Bruyne (BEL/Manchester City)

9. Kylian Mbappe (FRA/Paris SG)

10. Gianluigi Donnarumma (ITA/AC Milan – Paris SG)

Women’s Ballon d’Or top 10

1. Alexia Putellas (ESP/Barcelona)

2. Jennifer Hermoso (ESP/Barcelona)

3. Sam Kerr (AUS/Chelsea)

4. Vivianne Miedema (NED/Arsenal).

5. Lieke Martens(NED/Barcelona)

6. Christine Sinclair (CAN/Portland Storms)

7. Pernille Harder (DAN/Chelsea)

8. Ashley Lawrence (CAN/Paris SG)

9. Jessie Fleming (CAN/Chelsea)

10. Fran Kirby (ENG/Chelsea)

Kopa Trophy top 3 (young players)

1. Pedri (ESP/Barcelona)

2. Jude Bellingham (ENG/Borussia Dortmund)

3. Jamal Musiala (GER/Bayern Munich)

Yashin Trophy top 3 (goalkeepers)

1. Gianluigi Donnarumma (ITA/AC Milan – Paris SG)

2. Edouard Mendy (SEN/Chelsea).

3. Jan Oblak (SLO/Atletico Madrid)

Read Here for More on Football


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here