Ronald Koeman’s side had work to do after losing at the Ramon Sanchez Pizjuan last month, but kept going as Gerard Pique scored a late equaliser in the final minute of stoppage time and Martin Braithwaite netted the winner in extra time.

It took Barcelona just 12 minutes to gain a foothold in the contest through an opener, with Dembele lashing an astonishing strike from distance into the top corner giving Tomas Vaclik no chance.

Antoine Griezmann was introduced off the bench as the home team looked for a second goal, but it was Sevilla who were presented with a golden opportunity to essentially secure their place in the final, but Lucas Ocampos had a penalty kick saved by Marc-Andre ter Stegen.

Barca piled forward in an attempt to send the tie into extra time and found the goal they needed in the final minute of stoppage time when Pique glanced home a header from a Griezmann delivery.

Fernando was sent off in a further blow to Sevilla before Braithwaite got on the end of a Jordi Alba cross to score what proved to be the winner, squeezing his header under Vaclik. The visitors finished the match with nine men, with Luu de Jong sent off as Barca progressed to the final where they will face either Athletic Club or Levante.

If anyone was capable of turning around a 2-0 deficit from the first leg it was Cup experts Barça. Goals from Dembélé, Piqué and Braithwaite turned the tie around and gave the blaugranes a 3-2 aggregate win after extra time.

The next date in the Copa del Rey diary is 17 April, the final.

Cornellà 0 – Barça 2; Rayo Vallecano 1 – Barça 2; Granada 3 – Barça 5; Sevilla 2 – Barça 0, and Barça 3 – Sevilla 0. 12 goals and a place in the Copa del Rey final 2020/21.

10 finals the last 13 seasons
2020/21. In the final

2019/20. Knocked out in the quarter finals

2018/19. Finalists.

2017/18. Champions.

2016/17. Champions.

2015/16. Champions.

2014/15. Champions.

2013/14. Finalists.

2012/13. Knocked out in the semi finals

2011/12. Champions.

2010/11. Finalists.

2009/10. Knocked out in the last 16.

2008/09. Champions.

The win against Sevilla hands Barça a 42nd appearance in the Copa del Rey final, a record in itself with Real Madrid next on the list on 39 appearances.

Barcelona: Ter Stegen; Mingueza (Firpo 78’), Piqué, Lenglet; Dest (Griezmann 62’), De Jong, Busquets (Moriba 78’), Pedri (Braithwaite 89’), Alba; Messi, Dembélé (Trincão 89’)

Goals: Dembélé (12’), Piqué (90’+4), Braithwaite (95’)

Sevilla: Vaclík; Vidal (Navas 54’), Koundé, Carlos, Acuña (Rekik 54’); Fernando, Jordán (Munir 106’); Suso (Gómez 79’), Torres (Ocampos 62’), En-Nesyri; De Jong (Rakitic 54’)

Goals: None

Red Cards: Fernando (90’+2), De Jong (103’)

Barcelona 3-0 Sevilla, Copa del Rey: FC Barcelona reach 42nd Copa del Rey final


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here