Fabio Jakobsen continued his excellent form as he sprinted to victory at the one-day Eurometropole Tour in Belgium.

Fabio Jakobsen (Deceuninck-Quick Step) won the 80th edition of the Eurometropolis Tour cycliste (1.Pro), contested on Wednesday over the distance of 177.6 km between La Louvière and Tournai. He won after a massive sprint ahead of Jordi Meeus (BORA-hansgrohe) and Dane Mads Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo).

A group of 31 riders isolated themselves in the lead 54 km from the finish after an attack from Pedersen (Trek-Segafredo). The last seventeen survivors were picked up 4 km from the finish under the leadership of the Deceuninck-Quick Step team.

This year the race is located four days from Paris-Roubaix which will take place on Sunday.

Jakobsen won his 25th professional success at 25 and his 7th this season. He succeeds Piet Allegaert, winner of this event in 2019 which was not contested last year due to the health crisis linked to Covid-19.

The race was first the “Franco-Belgian Circuit” until 2010 then the Tour of Picardy Wallonia in 2011 before adopting its current name in 2012. Stage race until 2015, it has since been contested in a single daytime.

1.Fabio Jakobsen (Ned) Deceuninck-QuickStep
2.Jordi Meeus (Bel) Bora-Hansgrohe
3.Mads Pedersen (Den) Trek-Segafredo
4.Danny van Poppel (Ned) Intermarché-Wanty-Gobert Matériaux
5.Hugo Hofstetter (Fra) Israel Start-up Nation
6.Nacer Bouhanni (Fra) Team Arkea-Samsic
7.Kenneth Van Rooy (Bel) Sport Vlaanderen-Baloise
8.Luca Mozzato (Ita) B&B Hotels p/b KTM
9.Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg (RSA) Qhubeka NextHash
10.Samuel Leroux (Fra) Xelliss-Roubaix Lille Metropole


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here