Adelaide Strikers Rashid Khan inflict batting collapse on Perth Scorchers in Big Bash League

Perth Scorchers won the toss and opted to field. Scorchers have included Liam Livingstone and Jason Roy. Livingstone was the highest run-scorer for the team last season. Strikers’ pacer Rashid Khan, who suffered a hamstring injury, is set to play the game.

The Perth Scorchers elected to field first and the opening four-over powerplay saw 33 runs come from Phil Salt and Jake Weatherald as boundaries were struck frequently by the opening pair.

Weatherald would be sent packing for just 18 but Salt powered to a half-century before the 30-ball mark. Shortly after Short was dismissed on 51 and then the wickets started to come more frequently for the Perth Scorchers as Matthew Renshaw was dismissed with a Carey shot straight into his stumps before Carey soon followed.

Marsh came into the attack in the 16th over and got rid of Jonathan Wells, who left his side 110 for 5. Rashid Khan then handled the crease and played a stunning batting spell as he scored 29 runs off 13 balls with the help of three sixes and a four before being dismissed at the hands of Tye in the 19th over. Rashid’s spell buoyed Strikers in the gamed and helped them score 165 for 8 wickets.

Pick of the bowler Jhye Richardson accounted 3 wickets for Perth Scorchers Andrew Tye and Mitchell Marsh took 2 wickets each.

While chasing the target of 166 runs Perth Scorchers get a good start by both the openers Josh Inglis and Jason Roy but after Josh Inglis and Colin Munro were dismissed Perth Scorchers inning tumbled like the card.

Consecutive wins for the Strikers. A thoroughly professional performance from their bowlers here. Jason Roy and Josh Inglis threatened to take the game away as the duo went bonkers in the first three overs of the chase. Then came Wes Agar, who not only removed Inglis but also snatched the momentum back from Perth. Rashid after his exploits with the bat showed why he’s one of the best spinners in this format. The leggie dictated terms and kept landing punches to derail the innings for the Scorchers. Briggs too was really impressive. Liam Livingstone hung for a while but the required rate kept creeping up and Adelaide’s pacers completed the formalities through an assortment of yorkers as the Scorchers were bowled out for just 94. They still remain winless after four games. Full Scorecard


Playing XI

New Rule of Big Bash League BBL|10

Perth Scorchers: Ashton Turner (c), Josh Inglis (wk), Jason Roy, Liam Livingstone, Colin Munro, Mitch Marsh, Aaron Hardie, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Fawad Ahmed

Perth Scorchers X-factor subs: Cameron Bancroft, Joel Paris

Adelaide Strikers: Alex Carey (c/wk), Phil Salt, Jake Weatherald, Matthew Renshaw, Jonathan Wells, Matt Short, Rashid Khan, Daniel Worrall, Danny Briggs, Wes Agar, Peter Siddle

Adelaide Strikers X-factor subs: Ryan Gibson, Harry Conway


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here