Image Source Brisbane Heat Twitter

Jimmy Peirson 47* runs knock The Heat will face the Thunder in the Knockout game while the Strikers have been eliminated in BBL10.

The scores: Adelaide Strikers 7-130 (Weatherald 32; Labuschagne 3-13, Swepson 2-23) lost to Brisbane Heat 4-131 (Peirson 47no, Denly 41; Siddle 1-14) by six wickets with seven balls remaining

The Big Bash League finals have kicked off with a do-or-die showdown between the Brisbane Heat and Adelaide Strikers.

Brisbane upset the Perth Scorchers on the final day of the regular season to push the Strikers to the brink of elimination, until the Sydney Sixers spared them by beating the Melbourne Stars.

Jake Weatherald has started well but fast bowler Mark Steketee has been asking plenty of questions. Alex Carey, the Strikers’ key batsmen, especially found the going difficult. Alex Carey dismissed by Mitchell Swepson who did 13 runs off 22 deliveries.

At the halfway stage of the innings, the Strikers’ 1/153 run-rate was just 5.3 and in an effort to get the scoring rate up, they took the Power Surge as soon as it was available in the 11th over.

The Strikers took the power surge just after the drinks break but lost Jake Weatherald to a Marnus Labuschagne runout before the struggles continued. The Strikers added just 16 runs across the two overs of the surge.

Labuschagne getting the big of wicket of Travis Head while Matt Renshaw made a run-a-ball nine before he was caught off the bowling of Mitchell Swepson. Labsuchagne then took another two wickets of Neser and Philip Salt.

For Brisbane Heat Labuschagne accounted 3 Wickets and Swepson accounted 2 wickets.
The Strikers’ X-Factor Jonathan Wells scored an unbeaten 20 from 14 balls which got the Strikers to 130.

The Strikers simply failed to get any momentum going and were restricted to 130/7 in their 20 overs thanks to an excellent bowling performance from the Heat.While chasing the target of 131 runs Brisbane Heat lost early wickets of Chris Lynn and Marnus Labuschagne 6 runs each. Michael Neser bowled a superb delivery to get the wicket of Lynn in the first over before Labuschagne was sent back to the pavilion by Wes Agar.

Peter Siddle bowled a superb Yorker to Sam Heazlett was plumb and the umpire had little hesitation in raising his finger.

Joe Denly and Jimmy Peirson have put together a partnership of 45. At the end of 10 overs, the Heat are 68/3. They need 63 runs to win from 60 deliveries.

The 69-run partnership has been broken by Briggs Joe Denly dismissed in 41 runs. Peirson played sensibly by constantly rotating strike and kept the asking rate under check

Unbeaten Jimmy Peirson 47 runs off 44 deliveries and Joe Burns 17 runs off 17 deliveries Brisbane Heat triumph in low-scoring contest over Strikers. The Heat will face the Thunder in the Knockout game while the Strikers have been eliminated.

Jimmy Perirson | Man of the Match: Can’t wait for the match against Thunder. We got a bit of momentum for us now and we can go there and beat them as we continue on our road to the final.


The Strikers have won the bat flip and have opted to bat first.

The team from Adelaide have made two changes with Matt Renshaw and Danny Briggs coming into the team in place of Jonathan Wells and Ryan Gibson. While Wells is included as an X-Factor substitute, Gibson misses out due to a hamstring injury.

The Heat, meanwhile, have brought in Sam Heazlett to replace Max Bryant.


Strikers: Alex Carey (WK), Jake Weatherald, Phil Salt, Travis Head (C), Matt Renshaw, Michael Neser, Daniel Worrall, Danny Briggs, Wes Agar, Liam O’Connor, Peter Siddle

X-Factor Substitutions – Jonathan Wells, Harry Nielsen

Heat: Sam Heazlett, Chris Lynn (C), Marnus Labuschagne, Joe Denly, Joe Burns, Jimmy Peirson (WK), Lewis Gregory, Mark Steketee, Xavier Bartlett, Mitchell Swepson, Ben Laughlin

X-Factor Substitutions – Jack Wildermuth, Morne Morkel


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here