The Sydney Sixers are back-to-back BBL champions after defeating the Perth Scorchers by 27 runs at the SCG on Saturday evening.

The Sixers were sent in to bat first by the Scorchers in what was the fourth BBL finals meeting between the two heavyweights.

England opener James Vince put on a masterclass performance in Sydney scoring 95 runs to power Moises Henriques’s side to 188/6 after Scorchers asked Sixers to bat first at the Sydney Cricket Ground.

The chase started on a good note with Cameron Bancroft (30 off 19) and Liam Livingstone (45 off 35) stitching a 45-run opening stand inside the fifth over.

The run rate slowed in the middle overs, and after being granted an extra life early in the run chase, Liam Livingstone was eventually removed for 45.

The visitors required 69 runs from the final overs, an equation that proved too much in front of 25,295 jubilant fans that attended the Sixers’ first home game this summer.

When Sixers paceman Ben Dwarshuis snared two wickets in three balls during the Power Surge, a Scorchers defeat seemed inevitable.

“I cannot speak highly enough of everyone on the pitch and in the franchise. Outstanding,” Vince said after the match.

“Lucky that it came off for me tonight, but everyone stood up at different times and it has been enjoyable.”

Sydney Sixers XI: Josh Philippe (wk), James Vince, Daniel Hughes, Moises Henriques (c), Jordan Silk, Dan Christian, Carlos Brathwaite, Sean Abbott, Ben Dwarshuis, Stephen O’Keefe, Jackson Bird

Perth Scorchers XI: Cameron Bancroft, Liam Livingstone, Colin Munro, Josh Inglis (wk), Mitch Marsh, Ashton Turner (c), Aaron Hardie, Jhye Richardson, Andrew Tye, Jason Behrendorff, Fawad Ahmed

BBL Final: Sydney Sixers beat Perth Scorchers by 27 runs to claim BBL10 Title


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here