Alex Hales and Callum Ferguson put on an unbeaten 116-run stand to help SydneyThunder win the game by nine wickets and confirm playoff spot

The score: Adelaide Strikers 4-115 ( 14.0 overs ) Jake Weatherald 80*
Sydney Thunder 1-116 ( 12.1 overs ) Alex Hales 63* Callum Ferguson 46*

The start was delayed due to rain and the game was reduced to a 14-overs per side.

Four bowlers can bowl a maximum of three overs.

Mandatory powerplay overs: 1-3.

There’ll be one over of Power Surge too, which can be taken after the eighth over by the batting side.

Jake Weatherald and Alex Carey to get off to a flying start but it was Nathan McAndrew who gave Sydney with the first breakthrough. In-form Carey (2) tried to break the shackles in the third over but ended up mistiming one straight into the hands of a fielder at mid-off.

The Strikers could only manage 15 in the powerplay (1-3). Adelaide was getting at less than six runs per over and was in desperate need of a move on. Philip Salt (1) tried to take on Tanveer Sangha but was caught at deep mid-wicket. Skipper Travis Head (2) too couldn’t contribute either and fell to Chris Green.

Weatherald kept the scoreboard ticking with occasional boundaries but didn’t find much support from the other end. The Strikers were going nowhere with their innings but that’s when Weatherald took the attack to Sangha. The left-handed opener along with Jonathan Wells smashed the young leg spinner for 17 runs in the 9th over and finally got some momentum into the innings.Wells (21 off 18) played his part but Weatherald’s masterclass has given the Strikers a defendable score.

Weatherald has played a masterpiece here at the Adelaide Oval. Remember you, the going wasn’t easy for the hosts who were inserted to bat in this shortened match. Callum Ferguson rotated his bowlers well and never allowed the batsmen to settle. The Thunder kept using the pressure and picked wickets at regular intervals to reduce Adelaide to 39/3 in the eighth over. They scored 76 runs off the last seven overs with Weatherald remained unbeaten 80 runs off 47 deliveries comprising with 8 fours and 4 Sixes. The Strikers made 115/4 from their 14 overs.

While chasing the 116 runs target. The Sydney Thunder got off to the worst possible start as Daniel Worrall knocked over Usman Khawaja for a golden duck with a superb inswinger.

Hales, Ferguson put Thunder in commanding position The duo batted very smartly, without taking any additional unnecessary risks.

Alex Hales finished the night unbeaten on 63 off 39 and was ably supported by veteran Cameron Ferguson who made 46 off 33 after the early loss of Usman Khawaja.

Alex Hales and Callum Ferguson put on an unbeaten 116-run partnership to help Sydney win the game by nine wickets.

Now the third team through to the playoffs. Sydney Thunder enters Sydney Sixers and the Perth Scorchers in third – thereby securing a place in the Knockout. The Strikers will have a nervous night of sleep, this loss has put them at the mercy of the other teams if they’re to make it through. With a triple-header coming up – this is how the final two spots can be filled. Brisbane Heat will need to win with a Bash boost point to go ahead of the Strikers – that’s a big ask, considering they’re up against table-toppers, Perth Scorchers. Three points will do if the Hurricanes and the Stars lose out to their respective opponents. For the Hurricanes, the equation – a win with or without the Bash Boost point will do. A loss with a Bash Boost point will still keep them in the hunt, but they will need the other results going their way. For the Stars, full four points could be enough for a place in the playoffs. Plenty of permutations and combinations coming up.


Toss: Sydney Thunder have won the toss and have opted to field

Adelaide Strikers (Playing XI): Alex Carey(w), Jake Weatherald, Philip Salt, Travis Head(c), Jonathan Wells, Ryan Gibson, Michael Neser, Daniel Worrall, Wes Agar, Liam O Connor, Peter Siddle

Jon Wells and Daniel Worrall return for Adelaide

X-Factor subs: Harry Conway, Matt Renshaw

Sydney Thunder (Playing XI): Usman Khawaja, Alex Hales, Callum Ferguson(c), Sam Billings(w), Alex Ross, Ben Cutting, Nathan McAndrew, Chris Green, Adam Milne, Brendan Doggett, Tanveer Sangha

Sydney have brought in Alex Ross in place of Ollie Davies

X-Factor subs: Chris Tremain, Oliver Davies


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here